Sala de Prensa
Usted está en:  Portada  > Sala de Prensa
Thursday, November 4, 2017 
Lima Group rejects removal of immunity of vice president of the Venezuelan National Assembly
Comparte :

Imagen foto_00000002

The Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay and Peru strongly condemn the decision of the Supreme Court of Justice (TSJ) of Venezuela to waive the parliamentary immunity of the First Vice-President of the National Assembly, Deputy Freddy Guevara, who has also been banned from leaving the country.

The decision adopted by the Supreme Court of Justice constitutes a new attack on the rule of law and the division of powers in Venezuela, and impedes the normal functioning of the legitimately constituted National Assembly through popular vote.

The Lima Group reiterates that it does not recognize any of the acts of the constituent National Assembly.

In ratifying our full support for the National Assembly, we reiterate to the Government of Venezuela its obligation to respect the Constitution and the integrity of the legislature.